THE ART OF SLOW SEWING

06/12/2020

Before meeting Jim Frank, I always thought that sewing was a quick endeavor. Unlike weaving, knitting, or embroidery, sewing delivered instant gratification. In my first day in class with Jim Frank we were told if we learned nothing else in his class, he would be happy if we learned to use a thimble and that we would learn the art of slow sewing. He taught us to be precise, exact with measuring, cutting, and sewing. He taught us to focus and give each moment of the process our entire and devoted attention. I found this to be not only satisfying but enjoyable. The result was a beautifully finished garment, something to be very proud of.

His philosophy, the art of slow sewing, has gradually crept into many other areas of my life as well. When I started working from home the second time, I took up my friend Gita's offer of sourdough starter. The slow process of making sourdough bread has become part of the rhythm of our lives here. We've since added kombucha and yogurt.

I have always been a reader. I've realized that the satisfaction of getting to the end of a long novel is one in the same with slow sewing. Some of my favorite authors are Sigrid Undset, Jane Austen, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Tolkien, and Michael O'Brien, along with Laura Ingalls Wilder and Beatrix Potter whom I still get to read allowed to our sixth daughter, Monica.